One of Those Things

Some of my friends have noted that I’m a bit more, well, irascible than usual. There’s no explanation, really, it’s just one of those things. I mean, it’s not like I have this sense of terrible foreboding or anything. Anger and sadness are irrelevant. Then there’s the helplessness someone might feel as the world careens toward disaster. No, nothing to see here. The world will keep spinning until it stops, or rather, until we stop it.

Yes, we’re that powerful, even fallen and frail. We are, after all, meant to be gods. It’s just that, fallen and frail as we are, we’re all stupid, so we don’t know how to be gods in the image of the One True God. We think it’s about calling down fire from heaven, so that’s exactly what we’ll do. Remember one of the fundamental axioms: we get whatever we want.

So life is good, the job is fine, I love my wife and am grateful for her more and more each day, I’ve written a few decent poems and read a few delightful and challenging books. Truly truly, all manner of thing is well with my little insignificant part of the world. All the same, I’m in a funk. It’s just one of those things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

