Where’s the Glenlivet?

Seems I must write two essays for the GRE. In the first, ‘analytical’ essay, I will be required to discuss a topic of pressing importance, such as this: ‘A nation should require of all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.’ (I forgot to say ‘Sic’.) The task is this – I’m to ‘discuss the extent to which I agree or disagree’ with such nonsense. Sigh. In the other essay, I get to pull apart an argument in order to assess its soundness. That *might* be more promising, but we’ll have to see how it goes. Do you think the phrase ‘begs the question’ has been so corrupted that no one will really know what I mean when I say it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

