While I’m At It

The implications of atheism are clear as far as I am concerned, and I summed them up as well as I am able. Love, joy, marriage, friendship, honor, courage, nobility of any kind; goodness, truth, beauty; all are illusions if there is no God, and by ‘God’ I signify a quite peculiar Triune God. I’m not saying that atheists don’t variously believe in any of those things, don’t value them, don’t teach their children to value them, and so forth. I’m just saying that if they do, they’re being absurd. If the Trinity does not ‘exist’ (whatever that means), then we are as well off killing the poor as we are feeding them. If I ceased to believe in God, I would be unable to give you a reason to play with your child in the park instead of dashing its head against a stone. That’s the way it is for me. I can’t change it. Imagine what a monster I would be if the Gospel were not true – and I don’t mean that I hold back because of fear of punishment. I don’t care about punishment. We all take a beating from time to time. No, because of who he is, and whose we are, and because there IS beauty, goodness, and truth, I don’t have to be a monster. There is a better destiny, a more terrible joy out there.

So, there you have it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to While I’m At It

  1. LLB says:

    I might have agreed with this before, but I haven’t found it to be so, at least in my own case. There is a realignment of how we justify/rationalize our behavior, but the behavior (and the attitudes behind them) seem to be consistent even when one crosses the divide into atheism.

    Admittedly, I did struggle with nihilism initially when it wasn’t clear how I was going to operate in the absence of my previously held Christian principles, but thankfully time, and some emotional distance from the trauma of this event have lended some perspective to my examination of the issue, and I have found that these previous beliefs are not nearly as necessary as I had before imagined.

    This is only anectodal evidence though, so your mileage may vary.

  2. LLB says:

    Sorry, I wanted to add that I’ve really enjoyed these last few posts, so please forgive me if my comments have been bothersome.

Leave a Reply

